Working on this action research project was quite rewarding. Classroom Action Research is more systematic than personal … I've discovered that the more engaging the students are in their investigations, the more they get excited about learning. You can find out more about action research from the following sources and courses: Leading Innovation in the primary classroom; Teachers as Researchers; Leading Action research in Science Education; Action Research in Education – Carol Davenport describes how action research can be used as part of a continuous professional development programme. Action research is used by teachers to find solutions to problem areas or formulate research plans for factors that need improvement. This action research project examines first year science teachers’ conceptions of scientific inquiry and their challenges in implementing inquiry-based lessons. I've been teaching this subject, along with others, for almost 35 years, and still know that there are many things I need to do to improve. Without knowing who the classroom is comprised of, it is impossible to affect change. This research has guaranteed relevance because the researchers get to decide what the focus of the study is. • Classroom Action Research is a method of finding out what works best in your own classroom so that you can improve student learning. There are many ways to improve knowledge about teaching. Action research – which is also known as Participatory Action Research (PAR), community-based study, co-operative enquiry, action science and action learning – is an approach commonly used for improving conditions and practices in a range healthcare environments (Lingard et al., 2008; Whitehead et al., 2003). ... Science and Action Research in Your Classroom. The data in classroom action research is often centered around students’ personalities, learning styles and needs. Classroom observations and interviews represent two first-year primary school science teachers’ conceptions