It is used to describe a tribe, a set of people with common interests, a group of musicians or a flock of animals. I can definitely see the progress. 180 Collective Nouns, Definition and Example Sentences Collective Nouns Collective nouns are used to describe a group of people, animals, plants, or anything else. Words like group, herd, and array are collective noun examples. Notable examples of collective nouns include words like group or team that cover a number of people who are treated as a singular entity. A Band This collective noun is exceptionally versatile. It’s also a term applied to a large group of social fish. Famously used in William Wordsworth’s poem about daffodils, this versatile collective noun can be applied to a group of visitors, a flock of birds or any other large gathering. I am an English native speaker and love English so much that I studied it at degree level. Collective nouns are names for a collection or a number of people or things. If you are looking to name a group of things whilst speaking or writing in the English language, you are going to need to use a collective noun. For example, Our team is not large. To download high-resolution poster click here, 1.) If there is a particular collective noun you like or one you find confusing, share it in the comments area. Example: A host of tourists is looking for some places to eat. Can be applied to a group of visitors, a flock of birds, or any other large gathering. Commonly Confused Adjectives with Explanations, 10 Onomatopoeic Words for Poetry and Everyday Writing, Whether or if? It is used to describe a tribe, a set of people with common interests, a group of musicians or a flock of animals. Collective Nouns List! 10 Collective Nouns: Interesting stories of their origin Collective nouns have evolved over the ages, most of them originating in the 15th century England, when the church ruled the lives of the people and the societal norms were very different from what we see today. A Clump. T