(X about 11/3), Manual Of Tropical And Subtropical Fruits, The Capulin (Plate XIII) (Prunus Salicifolia, Hbk. The long, elliptical, serrated leaves add a tropical look to the garden and the bold textured foliage contrasts well with many other plants, such as palm trees. Does anyone have a favorite? Both Big Jim and MacBeth were mentioned. Little is known of the Chinese varieties. (Read 8153 times) Guanabanus. Original Author. so far my options are big jim or golden nugget. 32. Advance. This classification may correspond to one suggested in 1908 by L. Trabut of Algiers. What is the best variety of loquat? The Premier loquat, of California origin which has been planted commercially. I'm not a Loquat expert but I have explored this question in the past. you might talk to DAVE at Bonita Creek Nursery 422-2400 he has a lot of different varieties, he is only open on weekends. The variety known in California as Thales, which is thought by some to be identical with Tanaka or very close to it, appears also to belong to the Chinese list. Good luck with them. « previous next » Print; Pages: 1 [2] All. Loquats are very disease resistant and typically are only slightly bothered disease or by Fire Blight. The small white flowers open between October and December – loquat flowers have an intense sweet scent. 32). It has not rained in 6 plus weeks and this is where these sized up 50% and now ripening. I don't know if you have this one in USA though. I found more info about Peluches, is an average variety regarding flavor. (X about \), Fig. The regions in which named varieties of the loquat have been developed are China, Japan, Queensland, India, Sicily, Algeria, and California.. Little is known of the Chinese varieties. Trabut's two groups were defined, one as having crisp white flesh and the other orange or yellow flesh. - Shape oval pyriform to oblong pyriform; size medium large, weight 2 ounces, length 2 1/2 inches, breadth 1 3/4 inches; base tapering slightly; apex broad, flatt