In my case, my degree is in ChE, and I considered getting a minor in Japanese because I speak it fluently. People are far to concerned with degree names when it's always been about how your skills/classes relate to the job you want. Since I was interested in studying abroad to improve my Russian and already planning to take all of those classes, I declared so I could get preference for registration and apply for scholarships through the department for when I go abroad. However, I've seen quite a bit of negative outlook on here about minors in general so I wanted to get a more direct consensus.. "Worth it" relative to what? My sister does Pharmacy at nottingham and its made me realise that i want to do that. But ultimately, as long as you list the classes you've taken relevant to the job you want, you'll be fine. While your minor probably won't make or break your application, it can serve as an additional piece of information to make you stand out a bit from the rest of the academic crowd. But if you’re just doing it to do it, then it might not be worth it. Cookies help us deliver our Services. Why that? Does anybody know if it is worth adding on a business minor? The math minor at my school is 28 credits so I would still need 3-4 classes at the 400 level. Almost all renowned experts in the field are either computer scientist or mathematician. There is a reason the vast majority of people aren't working in their major field. They do not appear on your degree, and you do too few classes in a minor for you to have a specialized knowledge worth hiring you in (for the most part, it depends on the employer) -- they don't show that you're competent in that field. I was told it increased marketability but is it actually worth it. Also idk if I should just get a certificate for something that’s more related to my major. Besides, I was already fluent in the language, I didn't need a minor … Is a music minor worth it, or just a waste of time? 1 decade ago. I'm glad I declared